Home » Detail » PM Hasina declares 12 districts homeless-free

PM Hasina declares 12 districts homeless-free

by tbhdesk

PM hands over more than 22,000 homes
123 upazilas of 12 districts declared homeless-free

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has declared 12 districts as homeless- and landless-free by handing over 22,101 homes to people in those areas under the Ashrayan-2 project.

She made the announcement and opened the distribution of the semi-pucca houses to the homeless and landless families through videoconferencing from her official residence, Ganabhaban, on Wednesday morning.

Twelve districts – Manikganj, Kushtia, Pabna, Natore, Naogaon, Thakurgaon, Dinajpur, Sherpur, Mymensingh, Rajbari, Jhalokathi and Pirojpur – and all their upazilas, 123 in total to be precise, were officially declared entirely free of landlessness and homelessness.

The program commenced with the screening of a documentary showcasing the evolving lifestyles of the Ashrayan home recipients.

Following that, the prime minister interacted with beneficiaries of various projects, including the Barasat Sonar Bangla Shelter Project in Terkhada upazila of Khulna, the Amanullapur ‘Ashrayan-2’ Project in Begumganj upazila of Noakhali and the Chakla Shelter 2 Project in Bara upazila of Pabna.

Previously, on March 22, a distribution of 39,365 houses took place in the initial phase of the second segment. Prior to this, on January 23, a total of 63,999 houses were allocated during the primary stage.

Two hundred eleven upazilas of nine districts, including Panchagarh and Magura, were declared landless- and homeless-free earlier.

Twenty-one districts and 334 upazilas have been declared completely homeless-free so far.

Under this project, landless and homeless people are getting good quality tin-shed semi-furnished homes on two decimals of land. Each home has two rooms with a balcony, kitchen and toilet. Moreover, the beneficiaries are getting electricity for free. There are also deep tube wells and submersible pumps for water supply

You may also like

Leave a Comment