Home » Detail » Trinamool BNP announces candidates for 230 seats including 5 former MPs

Trinamool BNP announces candidates for 230 seats including 5 former MPs

by tbhad

The TBH Desk

Trinamool BNP has released the names of party candidates for the upcoming 12th National Assembly elections. The party has announced candidates for 230 out of 300 seats. The names of the candidates will be announced later in the rest of the seats Five former MPs are among the candidates announced by the party.

The party’s general secretary Taimur Alam Khandkar announced the names of party candidates at the Trinamool BNP central office in Paltan on Wednesday evening. At that time party chairman Samsher Mobin Chowdhury and executive chairperson Antara Selima Huda were absent.

Trinamool BNP declared candidate list of former MPs are MM Shaheen in Moulvibazar-2 seat, MA Awal in Laxmipur-1 seat, HM Golam Reza in Satkhira-4 seat, Nuruddin Ahmed in Jhenaidah-2 seat, Abdul Gani in Meherpur-2 seat.

Party Chairman Trinamool BNP Chairperson Samsher Mobin Chowdhury got party nomination from Sylhet-6 (Bianibazar-Golapganj), Executive Chairperson Antara Huda Munshiganj-1, General Secretary Taimur Alam Khandkar Narayanganj-1 (Rupganj).

Meanwhile, the candidates of the ‘Progressive Democratic Forum’ party, which has emerged ahead of the national elections, will be elected from the Trinamool BNP. Among them, Chairman of Progressive Democratic Forum Nazim Uddin has got the nomination of Trinamool BNP in Chittagong-5 seat and General Secretary Azim Uddin in Feni-3 seat.

The party led by former Vice President of Chittagong North District BNP and former VP of Chittagong University Central Student Union (CHAKSU) Nazim Uddin and GS Azim Uddin is not registered with the Election Commission.

Trinamool will elect a political front called ‘Progressive Islami Jot’ in alliance with BNP. Convener of this 15-party alliance, former member of parliament MA Awal has received Trinamool BNP nomination from Laxmipur-1 constituency and member secretary Nurul Islam Khan from Mymensingh-2 constituency.

Chowdhury Irad Ahmed Siddiqui, son of BNP leader Chowdhury Tanveer Ahmed Siddiqui, has been nominated by Trinamool BNP for Gazipur-1 seat. Mainul Hasan, son of late lawyer Abdus Sattar, the controversial Member of Parliament of Brahmanbaria, has received Trinamool BNP’s nomination from Brahmanbaria-1 constituency.

Trinamool BNP has not announced any candidate for Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s seat Gopalganj-3. In this regard, Taimur Alam said, “There was a candidate in Gopalganj-3 seat but he has a bank loan. We are looking for alternative candidates.

Trinamool BNP has multiple candidates in several constituencies. In this regard, Taimur Alam Khandkar said, many people’s candidatures were canceled due to thunko. There is some time between submission and withdrawal of nomination form. Among these, those who will be more popular in the area, will be given the party symbol.

Trinamool BNP Secretary General said that in the selection of party candidates, importance has been given to people who are in touch with the middle class and the people. We want to break this trend. I did not give the nomination of people from the upper levels of the society in that way.

Highlighting the rationale of participating in the elections, Taimur Alam said, “The elections of 2014 and 2018 were not fair and acceptable. But the formation of the government could not be prevented. Why should I give a blank check to the government? I will not let them pass by sleeping.

You may also like

Leave a Comment