Home » Detail » A fraction of BNP resorted to arson attacks, blockades despite many of its leaders participating in polls: MoFA

A fraction of BNP resorted to arson attacks, blockades despite many of its leaders participating in polls: MoFA

by tbhad

UNB, Dhaka

A large number of nomination papers were submitted amidst fanfare and festivity by aspiring candidates for the upcoming 12th national election, to be held on January 7, 2024.

A fraction of BNP, the major opposition political party — instead of participating — has resorted to burning private and public properties, blockades, hartals, and are boycotting the upcoming election although many of its own leaders are participating, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, on its verified Facebook page, posted Saturday.

This update on the election front is likely to be shared with the foreign missions in Dhaka through email, a source at the ministry told UNB.

The Election Commission received a total of 2,711 nomination papers against 300 constituencies across the country.

After completion of the 15-day timeframe on November 30, 2023, candidates totalling 1,964 from 30 out of 44 registered parties submitted their nomination papers.

A total of 303 candidates from Awami League, 304 from Jatiya Party, 218 from Zaker Party, 151 from Trinomul BNP, 142 from National Peoples Party, 116 from Bangladesh Congress, and others from the remaining parties submitted their nomination papers.

The participation of the candidates across a wide variety of political parties with a lot of interest and enthusiasm has so far been a hallmark of the free, fair and transparent election process which the Election Commission is committed to, according to the ministry of foreign affairs.

Additionally, it said, a staggering 747 candidates submitted their nomination papers as independent candidates, including around 33 former BNP MPs and leaders. “This also highlights the participatory nature of the upcoming elections.”

The nomination papers will be scrutinized on December 1-4, 2023, and candidatures can be withdrawn by December 17, 2023.

The schedule for the 12th national parliamentary election was announced by Chief Election Commissioner Kazi Habibul Awal on November 15, 2023.

You may also like

Leave a Comment