Home » Detail » Upazila chairmen, vice-chairmen take oath in Rajshahi

Upazila chairmen, vice-chairmen take oath in Rajshahi

by The Bangla Herald

Chairmen, vice-chairmen, including women
reserved seats, elected through the first phase of the sixth Upazila Parishad
(UP) election in eight districts under Rajshahi division took oath today
(Tuesday) with a vow to serving their respective grassroots people with
utmost sincerity and honesty.

Commissioner of Rajshahi division Dr Dewan Muhammad Humayun Kabir
administered the oath held at Shilpakala Academy auditorium attended by the
69 newly-elected local government representatives along with their scores of
supporters and followers from 23 upazilas.

Hosted by the commissioner’s office of Rajshahi division, the oath-taking
session was followed by a feeling sharing meeting.

Addressing the ceremony, Dr Humayun Kabir urged the newly-elected upazila
chairmen and vice-chairmen to render their services with the commitment of
building the nation free from all sorts of curses like corruption, terrorism,
extremism and drug-addiction.

He also urged them to put in their best efforts for successful implementation
of the local government related projects.

The public representatives have a pivotal role towards reaching the public
services to the grassroots effectively as the present government of Prime
Minister Sheikh Hasina is committed to do the same.

Divisional Commissioner Dr Kabir added that the public representatives should
put their best efforts in reflecting the hopes and aspirations of grassroots

With Director of Local Government Division Parvej Raihan in the chair, the
ceremony was attended, among others, by Additional Deputy Inspector General
(ADIG) of Police of Rajshahi Range Faisal Mahmud, Regional Election Officer
Delwar Hossain and Deputy Commissioner of Rajshahi Metropolitan Police
Anirban Chakma.

You may also like

Leave a Comment